help > Biomedical image segmentation , plug-in
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts
Display:
Results per page:
Nov 4, 2016  12:11 AM | jun tian
Biomedical image segmentation , plug-in
Dear Prof. Peng,

I am a master student major in clinical medicine, My study focused on the visualization of head and neck anatomy. To build a natural digital anatomy model, I have tried 3D doctor, mimics, amira and finally found the great software Vaa3D. Because I am not familiar with the computer language and some complicated process, I have to ask for help here,even some questions maybe easy for professionals.
Let me introduce my problems:
1. Several methods are used for biomedical image segmentation in software Amira,such as Interactive Image Segmentation,Threshold Segmentation,region growing,brush and lasso Segmentation.However,I found Cell- segmentation and label objects in Vaa3d with default plug-in.I wonder if there are other segmentation methods available and how can I find it?
2.How to put or paste the source codes from the official website into the software and run it normally?
3. If we can volume rendering the targets segmented but not ROI using true color or surface rendering targets segmented by true color other than pseudo color?

Best regards,
Jun Tian
Nov 4, 2016  06:11 AM | Zhi Zhou
RE: Biomedical image segmentation , plug-in
For your questions:
1. Vaa3d has some other related plugins (e.g. cell_counting, image_thresholding, shape-analysis). They are all under "Plug-In" menu. Also, there are some basic functions under "Image/Data" --> "intensity" menu.

2. Do you want to build Vaa3D from the source code? If in this case, please check the instruction from https://github.com/Vaa3D/Vaa3D_Wiki/wiki/Vaa3D-Wiki. On the right side menu, you can find different instructions based on your platform (Windows, Linux, or Mac).

3. Please provide us an example image.  

Zhi
Nov 7, 2016  11:11 AM | jun tian
Dear Zhi,