help > Extracting ROI timeseries
Showing 1-2 of 2 posts
Display:
Results per page:
Jul 10, 2019  01:07 PM | Jenna Campbell - University of New Hampshire
Extracting ROI timeseries
Hello, 

I am new to CONN and as a way of double-checking my understanding of how CONN is calculating my results (specifically the z-matrices) I have been trying to conduct an "apples-to-apples" comparison between using SPM & REX and CONN. These are resting state data only. I preprocessed my data in SPM and used REX to extract the timeseries for 15, 5mm-spherical ROIs. I then ran my correlations and converted my Pearson coefficients to Fisher's Z. I ran the same steps as closely as I could in CONN. I selected the smoothed images instead of unsmoothed as is suggested in order to keep the comparison consistent. In the end, my correlation matrices are quite different. 

When I then go in to the REX output files in CONN to extract the raw timeseries they are similar (but not exact) to what I have extracted using SPM & REX. When I open the data/ROI_Subject*_Session*.mat file and extract the timeseries for each ROI there, they are vastly different (measures are on the order of 5-50 for each timepoint, as compared to 5000-10000 from REX output). I know that the "data/ROI..." file contains denoised data and REX contains raw data, but I'm perplexed as to why these values are so vastly different. Is there an additional step or calculation that I am unaware of? Do you have any recommendations as to how to conduct a more similar comparison between these analytic approaches to help assure we are indeed performing the same operations?

I greatly appreciate any feedback you can offer.

Many thanks,
Jenna
Jul 10, 2019  01:07 PM | Pravesh Parekh - National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences
RE: Extracting ROI timeseries
Hello Jenna,

Two quick points which might help: