help > Between-subject contrast 'Any effect'
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts
Display:
Results per page:
May 9, 2020  05:05 PM | Mickael Tordjman
Between-subject contrast 'Any effect'
Hi Alfonso,

I have been using Conn for a few months, it is an amazing tool, thank you!
I have 2 questions regarding the "Between-subject contrast" in the Seed-to-Voxel analysis.
I have noticed that for comparisons between 2 groups ("patients" and "controls"), I can see some obvious visual differences in the Result previews when I select "Any effect (F-test)" in Between-subject contrast (image attached, subjects on the right). It seems like there is an obvious decreased connectivity in subjects compared to controls.
However, I don't find the same result when I compare patients and controls (Patients>Controls in Between-Subject contrast) with only small area of increased connectivity in patients.
What is the test performed if I select 2 groups and "Any effect" as between-subject contrast (in the result explorer box)?
Why the visual differences found when selecting "Any-effect" are not found when I select "Patients>Controls" in Between-Subject contrast? Do you think it could be due to insufficient statistical power?

Thank you very much for your reply!

Mickael Tordjman
Attachment: Alfonso1.JPG
May 10, 2020  12:05 AM | Alfonso Nieto-Castanon - Boston University
RE: Between-subject contrast 'Any effect'
Hi Mickael,