sdm-help-list > Questions about pre-processing report and replication concern
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts
Display:
Results per page:
May 31, 2020  12:05 PM | Yen-Wen Chen
Questions about pre-processing report and replication concern
Dear experts, 

I'm new in meta-analysis. I downloaded the latest version SDM, version 6.21.

I first practiced the execution of the software using tutorial data and everything went smoothly.

Then, I tried to apply the same parameters used from the tutorial practice to my own data (with VBM structural data).

One difference I noticed was the summary report after the pre-processing. 

At the top of the report webpage, it showed the "Peak height meta-analysis for '(all)' thresholded studies". However, with my own data, there were multiple columns with different number of thresholded studies but no column with '(all)' thresholded studies (please kindly find the attached screenshot for reference). I didn't get any warning messages from the execution log.

The "Pre-processing summary" with Maximum and Minimum peaks seemed to be roughly matched with the original studies.

I'm wondering if the reported "Peak height meta-analysis for '(xx)' thresholded studies" indicated anything about the data? (i.e., if there's something wrong caused that I didn't have the result from "meta-analysis for '(all)' thresholded studies")

Also a follow-up question, 

Since the execution was completed without errors, I went ahead with the Mean analysis (which also completed without errors) and Thresholding with p < .005 with cluster size > 10 voxels. I got NULL results for both positive and negative peaks. 

However, this null result didn't replicate a recently published meta-analysis study included the same studies using the same threshold (I intended to included the same studies with the attempt to validate my methodology). (this published study found two clusters for positive and four clusters for negative correlation)