help > first-time user asking for help
Showing 1-11 of 11 posts
Display:
Results per page:
Jan 10, 2013  01:01 AM | Long Pun
first-time user asking for help
Hi all,

I am new to ShapeWorks and is having troubles to get it working. I downloaded the executables for windows (since I cannot find the source code I assume it is sufficient) and tried to run it on my own dataset (.vtk format).

My problem is simple: nothing comes up. I wrote a .params file (and a .xml as well) similar to the one in the torus example, add the folder to my system path, cd to the data folder and run

..\ShapeWorksGroom ID.preprocess1.params isolate hole_fill center auto_crop  (note I only changed the name of parameter file and names of input and output files inside)
just like in the example. However, nothing happens.
(I mean there are no output files, and it does not feel like running anyrthing)

But if I only type in

..\ShapeWorksGroom

Then the prompt returns a string of the usage of ShapeWorksGroom, so I know it recognize the command.

I think there may be some steps I am missing. Any ideas?

P.S.: I also tried to type in some random strings behind ..\ShapeWorksGroom, something like

..\ShapeWorksGroom sfdvgsbvdsf

And the outcome was the same, no output, no error prompt, nothing. Hope this information helps.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Long
Jan 10, 2013  11:01 AM | Manasi Datar
RE: first-time user asking for help
Hi Long

At present, ShapeWorks does not support data in .vtk format.
ShapeWorksGroom works with binary surfaces in an ITK-reader-friendly format (e.g. .NRRD or .MHA). i'm afraid you may need to scan convert your .vtk meshes into an ITK compatible format...

HTH
Regards
manasi

P.S. please use the XML parameter files. the "params" version is not supported any more.
Jan 13, 2013  11:01 AM | Long Pun
Hi Manasi,

Thanks for the reply. This time re-make the .mha models (and verified them by viewing them in another software), wrote a .xml file, and run again.