help > Origin issues
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts
Display:
Results per page:
Sep 13, 2013  12:09 PM | William Hedley Thompson
Origin issues
Hi,

I am quite new to this/these dataset(s), so I apologise if this is a stupid question.

I have downloaded three datasets so far (Bangor, Oxford and New York b) and have encountered a similar problem in all of them (although new york b is by far the best so far). I plan on using my own batch preprocessing pipeline using SPM and FSL instead of the automated scripts provided here. What I have noticed is the origin is very far off in these datasets. The origin ([0 0 0]mm), in many subjects is set outside the brain. I looked mainly in the Oxford dataset and it appears the origin is off by approximately the same amount in every subject. The origins are so far off that they do not work in my pipeline and have to be corrected manually (which is going to be a real pain to do 1000 times) 

This seems a bit weird to me though. I would have thought that part of the quality control would be making the origin quite central so everyone does not need to review/correct this. It seems like it would take a lot of time correcting for each origin independently.

I guess I have three questions:

1. Is this a known issue? (I've not been able to find anything about it here). 1b. Or am I doing something wrong?
2. Is it taken into account of in the custom preprocessing scripts provided here? (which is the only answer that I can think of for 1)
3. Does anyone know of a way to automatically correct the origin, given that it is a fixed amount for each dataset? (my current guess is to find out approximately how much each dataset is off and try and fix in automatically in SPM.)

Thanks in advance, and my apologies if this question is stupid or me doing something incorrectly.

William
Sep 16, 2013  02:09 PM | Ged Ridgway
RE: Origin issues
Hi William,

If it's off by a constant amount each time then this should be easy to fix.