help > FDR: Why the nonparametric p is used?
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts
replyDisplay: Results per page:
Jul 29, 2017  02:07 AM | Takafumi Yano - Kyoto University
FDR: Why the nonparametric p is used?
Hi doctor Andrew.

I am a beginner user of NBS tool box. Then, I used FDR in this tool box.
And I read the NBSfdr.m file to understand what is done.
I have two questions. kindly please answer these questions.

Q1
I think the procedure of calculating nonparametric p value is done by permutated t statistics.
As far as I know, in most case, the non-parametric p value is directly calculated by using the permutated mean values. But in this program, the permutated t statistics value. 
Please tell me why you use this procedure from theoretical aspects.

Q2
The BH method of adjusting FDR is famous and widely used.
However, in this program, Simes procedure is used.
Please tell me what is Simes procedure. and what is the merit of this Simes procedure?

Best regards,
Takafumi Yano
Kyoto University, Japan.
Jul 29, 2017  08:07 PM | Andrew Zalesky
RE: FDR: Why the nonparametric p is used?
Hi Takafumi,

when using FDR, it is crucial to set the number of permutations substantially higher (e.g. 10^5 or perhaps even 10^6). This is because permutation is used to compute a p-value for each edge individually when using FDR.

Q1. I'm not sure what you mean by permuted mean values here. The t-statistic is used as a measure of variation. The t-statistic is not permuted. We permute samples/individuals and then recompute the t-statistic for each permutation to provide a measure of variation and build an empirical null distribution.

Q2. I think Simes and BH are effectively the same. Simes proposed the procedure in 1986 and BH proved that the procedure controls the FDR and the FWER in the weak sense in 1995. In 2002, Storey proposed a variation that is useful when the proportion of true null hypotheses is small.

Andrew

Originally posted by Takafumi Yano:
Hi doctor Andrew.