help > gPPI: contrasting to baseline, modeling stimuli duration, and temporal derivatives
Showing 1-2 of 2 posts
Display:
Results per page:
May 23, 2018  09:05 PM | Jessica Hayes - Wayne State University
gPPI: contrasting to baseline, modeling stimuli duration, and temporal derivatives
Hello,

I’m a graduate student with experience running task GLM
analyses, but my lab is now interested in performing gPPI analyses on fMRI data
collected during a visual encoding task. 
We are interested in whether the connectivity of our regions of interest
during encoding is modulated by subsequent memory (hit or miss during retrieval).  During retrieval (out of scanner), participants
also indicate their confidence in their decision (high confidence / low
confidence). 

Therefore we have three task conditions  (Subsequent Hit-High Confidence [Hit-HC],
Subsequent Hit-Low Confidence [Hit-LC], Subsequent Miss), with implicit baseline
as a fourth condition (per [url=https://www.jiscmail.ac.uk/cgi-bin/webadmin?A2=ind1312&L=spm&D=0&1=spm&9=A&J=on&d=No+Match%3BMatch%3BMatches&z=4&P=414240)]listserv[/url]
post).  Our task GLM also includes
temporal derivatives of the three task conditions, as well as six motion
parameters and regressors for motion outliers.

I have a few questions about gPPI:

• My understanding of PPI
    involves change in coupling across task conditions relative to the baseline
    (see footnote A).  However, can this approach
    be used to investigate modulation of connectivity between task (i.e. encoding)
    and baseline?  The gPPI script creates
    contrasts for ‘none minus Hit-HC’, ‘Hit-HC minus none’, etc.  Can the results of these contrasts be
    reasonably interpreted as voxels where coupling with the seed region is
    modulated between Hit-HC and implicit baseline? This
    would seem to indicate it can, but then what are the task and baseline
    connectivity relative to? If it's relative to the other two task conditions