open-discussion > ParaToSpharmMeshCLP - basic usage?
Showing 1-14 of 14 posts
Display:
Results per page:
Jun 3, 2015  10:06 PM | Lara Foland-Ross - Stanford University
ParaToSpharmMeshCLP - basic usage?
Hello SPHARM experts, 

I am new to SPHARM and have successfully run a single subject through both SegPostProcessCLP and GenParaMeshCLP (via command line). I've run into some difficulty running ParaToSPHARMMeshCLP, and am hopeful you can help clarify what's happening in this step.

The command I'm running is:

ParaToSPHARMMeshCLP --regTemplate input_data_postprocessed_surfSPHARM.vtk --regTemplateFileOn --flipTemplate inputdata_postprocessed_surfSPHARM.coef --flipTemplateOn --medialMesh --paraOut --phiIteration 100 --thetaIteration 100 --spharmDegree 12 --subdivLevel 20 inputdata_postprocessed_para.vtk inputdata_postprocessed_surf.vtk output_surf

And the error that is returned states: "Coef file couldn't be open"

What's additionally puzzling is that I thought ParaToSPHARMMeshCLP generates the .coef file. Is that correct?

Could you also please confirm that ParaToSPHARMMeshCLP generates input_data_postprocessed_surfSPHARM.vtk?

Many thanks in advance for the help!
Lara
Jun 4, 2015  01:06 PM | Martin Styner
RE: ParaToSpharmMeshCLP - basic usage?
Hi Lara
the templates provided to ParaToSPHARMMeshCLP are input data, they provide an alignment template (rotation/translating the mesh to match the "regTemplate") and a parameter flip template (flipping the spherical parametrization, e.g. switching the north vs south pole of the spherical parametrization). Both are not necessary, but can be provided to match meshes across different subjects or even different studies.

So, if you run it for the first time, you won't have any templates and thus you cannot provide these template (and yes, input_data_postprocessed_surfSPHARM.vtk is generated by ParaToSPHARMMeshCLP)