help > 2nd-level contrasts
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts
Display:
Results per page:
May 27, 2019  08:05 AM | louisr
2nd-level contrasts
Dear all, 

I'm new to CONN, and not sure what I'm doing with my results. I have 2 groups (Group_A (n=16) ; Group_B (n=14)) defined in "Setup Covariates (2nd-level)" and 2 sessions (Sess_1 ; Sess_2) defined in "Setup Conditions". 
Then I have a clinical score (Score) defined in "Setup Covariates (2nd-level)", and I created an "All Subjects" group, also defined in "Setup Covariates (2nd-level)".

I try to see what's different between the two sessions depending on my clinical score. 

1. I choose "All Subjects" , "Score" [0 1] / "Sess_1" , "Sess_2" [-1 1]

2. I choose "Group_A" , "Group_B" , "Score" [0 0 1] / "Sess_1" , "Sess_2" [-1 1]

Why do I have differents results with these two contrats ? 

Thank you for your help in advance,
Best regards,
Louis
May 27, 2019  11:05 PM | Alfonso Nieto-Castanon - Boston University
RE: 2nd-level contrasts
Dear Louis,

That's an interesting question, thanks for the clear/detailed description.

Those results are different due to differences in the covariate (clinical scores) between the two groups. Analysis (1) is looking at the overall association between clinical scores and connectivity changes across all of your subjects (disregarding group membership), while analysis (2) is looking only at the within-group association between clinical scores and connectivity changes (i.e. discounting potential associations that may be explained more easily by between-group differences in clinical scores).