help > Determining Best Parameters for CONN
Showing 1-1 of 1 posts
Display:
Results per page:
Nov 4, 2016  05:11 PM | Emily Belleau - McLean Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Determining Best Parameters for CONN
Hi Alfonso,

I am brand new to using CONN. I want to make sure that I am using the best parameters for optimizing my resting state functional connectivity analysis. I have preprocessed all of my data in SPM and used ART to regress outliers outside of CONN.
1.) Structural Files: I should be using the normalized structural (ending in wm?)
2.) Functional: Should I choose the smoothed files, then in the ROI section, I should choose just the normalized functional files to decrease the chances that the ROI will spill into other structures?
3.) Bandpass settings: I have typically used 0.01 to 0.1. However, I noticed the default in CONN is a bit different. Am I better off leaving the default. I have seen some decent variability in bandfilter settings across studies? Any guidance on how to choose the best settings? If I wanted to do both static and dynamic rsFC, I have read that a bandpass of 0.0278-0.10 might be best?
4.) Bandpass: Is it better to do simultaneous? Would you recommend this? I have been told It is recommendable that all regressions are carried out in one step, i.e. including the CSF and WM and bandpass regressors together. In such a way, the fitting can properly deal with possible correlations between the regressors.
5.) Despiking....I typically do before regression, would you recommend? Then also do linear detrending.